People - Faculty, by Area of Study

Primary tabs

Composition

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Joseph Anderson
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Composition
Charles Corey
Research Associate, Director of the Harry Partch Institute
crcorey@uw.edu
Joël-François Durand
Associate Director, School of Music; Chair, Composition; Professor
jdurand@uw.edu
(206) 543-1229
MUS 108
Huck Hodge
Assistant Professor
hhodge@uw.edu
(206) 543-1232
MUS 325
Richard Karpen
Director, School of Music; Aura Morrison Endowed Professor
karpen@uw.edu
(206) 543-2071
MUS 106
Juan Pampin
Associate Professor of Composition; Director of DXARTS
pampin@uw.edu
(206) 616-6258
RAI 207

Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Associate Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Ludovic Morlot
Chair, Orchestral Conducting; Affiliate Professor
David Alexander Rahbee
Director, UW Symphony; Artist in Residence
darahbee@uw.edu
(206) 543-1209
MUS 209
Timothy Salzman
Chair, Wind Ensemble Conducting; Professor
salzman@uw.edu
(206) 685-8050
MUS 217
Stephen Stubbs
Director, Baroque Opera; Senior Artist in Residence
seattlestubbs@gmail.com
(206) 543-1230
MUS 105
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Fellow; Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

Ethnomusicology

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Patricia Shehan Campbell
Chair, Ethnomusicology; Professor
pcamp@uw.edu
(206) 543-4768
MUS 31B
Shannon Dudley
Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Associate Professor
dudley@uw.edu
(206) 543-6308
MUS 28E
Ter Ellingson
Professor of Music; Adjunct Professor of Comparative Religion, and South Asian Studies
ellingsn@uw.edu
(206) 543-7211
MUS 28D
Christina Sunardi
Associate Professor
csunardi@uw.edu
(206) 543-0266
MUS 28C

Instrumental Performance

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Brockman
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
brockman@uw.edu
(206) 616-6209
MUS 214
Douglas Cleveland, organ Douglas Cleveland
Artist in Residence, Organ
drc26@uw.edu
(206) 543-1201
Tom Collier
Chair, Percussion; Professor, Percussion
mallets@uw.edu
(206) 543-8259
MNY 59E
Michael Crusoe
Artist in Residence, Timpani
timpo2k@msn.com
Jeffrey Fair
Artist in Residence, French Horn
jbfair@uw.edu
(206) 604-0610
MUS 335
Eric Gaenslen
Artist in Residence, Cello
ericgaenslen@gmail.com MUS 211
David Gordon, trumpet David Gordon
Chair, Brass; Artist in Residence, Trumpet
dfgordon@uw.edu
(206) 685-2239
MUS 336
Nicole Harreld
Lecturer, Part-time (MUSIC 185-Online)
nharreld@uw.edu
Rhonda Kline
Director of Accompanying; Artist in Residence
rkline@uw.edu
(206) 221-5126
MUS 4
Seth Krimsky
Artist in Residence, Bassoon
skrimeth@gmail.com
(206) 543-9260
MUS 324
Barry Lieberman
Artist in Residence, Double Bass
dbass@uw.edu
(206) 685-9112
MUS 214
Robin McCabe
Chair, Keyboard; Professor, Piano
rmccabe@uw.edu
(206) 543-1223
MUS 204
Brad McDavid
Director of Husky Marching Band
bmcdavid@uw.edu
(206) 543-7383
Graves Bldg
Valerie Muzzolini Gordon
Artist in Residence, Harp
gordonv@uw.edu
(206) 543-9466
MNY 56
Jennifer Nelson
Artist in Residence, Clarinet
jenn2009@uw.edu
(206) 543-9260
MUS 324
Christopher Olka
Artist in Residence, Tuba & Trombone
seattletuba@me.com
(206) 543-7840
MUS 336
Michael Partington
Artist in Residence, Guitar
mparting@uw.edu
(206) 543-6939
MUS 10
Ronald Patterson
Professor, Violin
rpatter@uw.edu
(206) 543-1227
MUS 210
Craig Sheppard
Professor, Piano
mufeng@uw.edu
(206) 543-1279
MUS 206
Donna Shin
Chair; Woodwinds; Assistant Professor, Flute
flute@uw.edu
(206) 543-9877
MUS 207
Shannon Spicciati
Artist in Residence, Oboe
spiccisk@uw.edu
(206) 685-2239
MUS 50
Office Hours: by appointment
Carole Terry
Professor, Organ and Harpsichord
cterry@uw.edu
(206) 543-1184
MUS 9
Cristina Valdés
Artist in Residence, Piano
cvaldes@uw.edu
206-543-6926
211
Alexander Velinzon
Affiliate Associate Professor, Strings
Melia Watras
Chair, Strings; Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Associate Professor, Viola
mwatras@uw.edu
(206) 543-1233
MUS 202
Michael Werner
Artist in Residence, Percussion
maw36@uw.edu

Jazz and Improvised Music

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Luke Bergman
Artist in Residence, Bass
bergmanl@uw.edu
(206) 543-1222
MUS 205
Tom Collier
Chair, Percussion; Professor, Percussion
mallets@uw.edu
(206) 543-8259
MNY 59E
Bill Frisell
Affiliate Professor
Gina Funes
Artist in Residence; Vocal Performance for Non-Majors
gfunes@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 301
Steve Korn
Artist in Residence, Drums
stvkrn@uw.edu
(206) 543-9874
MUS 330
Ted Poor
Artist in Residence, Drums
tedpoor@gmail.com
(206) 543-9874
MUS 330
Fred Radke
Lecturer; Jazz (Big Band era)
fradke@uw.edu
(206) 543-1185
MUS 301
Marc Seales
Professor, Jazz Piano
mseales@uw.edu
(206) 543-1231
MUS 14
Greg Sinibaldi
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
sinibald@uw.edu
Cuong Vu
Chair, Jazz Studies; Donald E. Petersen Endowed Professor; Associate Professor
cuongvu@uw.edu MUS 7

Keyboard

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Douglas Cleveland, organ Douglas Cleveland
Artist in Residence, Organ
drc26@uw.edu
(206) 543-1201
Rhonda Kline
Director of Accompanying; Artist in Residence
rkline@uw.edu
(206) 221-5126
MUS 4
Robin McCabe
Chair, Keyboard; Professor, Piano
rmccabe@uw.edu
(206) 543-1223
MUS 204
Craig Sheppard
Professor, Piano
mufeng@uw.edu
(206) 543-1279
MUS 206
Carole Terry
Professor, Organ and Harpsichord
cterry@uw.edu
(206) 543-1184
MUS 9
Cristina Valdés
Artist in Residence, Piano
cvaldes@uw.edu
206-543-6926
211

Music Education

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Patricia Shehan Campbell
Chair, Ethnomusicology; Professor
pcamp@uw.edu
(206) 543-4768
MUS 31B
Ellen Dissanayake
Affiliate Professor, Music Education
Steven J. Morrison
Chair, Music Education; Professor
sjmorris@uw.edu
(206) 543-8986
MUS 31C
Christopher Roberts
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Music Education

Music History and Music Theory

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Jonathan W. Bernard
Chair, Music Theory; Professor
jbernard@uw.edu
(206) 543-4889
MUS 16
George Bozarth
Professor; Brahms Archives
gbozarth@uw.edu
(206) 543-0400
MUS 225
Stephen Rumph
Associate Professor
srumph@uw.edu
(206) 543-9403
MUS 26
Larry Starr
Waters Endowed Professor
lstarr@uw.edu
(206) 543-8348
MUS 331B
Office Hours: Mondays, 10:30-12:00
JoAnn Taricani
Chair, Music History; Associate Professor; Graduate Program Coordinator
taricani@uw.edu
(206) 685-0569
MUS 18
Judy Tsou
Head, Music Library; Affiliate Assistant Professor, Music History
jstsou@uw.edu
(206) 543-1168
MUS 113
Office Hours: By Appointment

Strings

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Eric Gaenslen
Artist in Residence, Cello
ericgaenslen@gmail.com MUS 211
Barry Lieberman
Artist in Residence, Double Bass
dbass@uw.edu
(206) 685-9112
MUS 214
Ronald Patterson
Professor, Violin
rpatter@uw.edu
(206) 543-1227
MUS 210
Alexander Velinzon
Affiliate Associate Professor, Strings
Melia Watras
Chair, Strings; Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Associate Professor, Viola
mwatras@uw.edu
(206) 543-1233
MUS 202

Vocal Performance

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Associate Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Phyllis Byrdwell
Artist in Residence; Director of UW Gospel Choir
phmaby@uw.edu
Thomas Harper
Associate Professor, Voice
tharper@uw.edu
(206) 543-1219
MUS 311
Philip Kelsey
Artist in Residence
philipkelsey3441@msn.com
Albert L. Merati
Adjunct Professor, Voice (from UW School of Medicine)
Martin Nevdahl
Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Voice (from UW Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences
Kari Ragan
Artist in Residence, Voice; Voice Pedagogy; Vocal Health
kragan@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 205
Cyndia Sieden
Artist in Residence, Voice
siedec@uw.edu
Stephen Stubbs
Director, Baroque Opera; Senior Artist in Residence
seattlestubbs@gmail.com
(206) 543-1230
MUS 105
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Fellow; Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

Woodwinds and Brass

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Brockman
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
brockman@uw.edu
(206) 616-6209
MUS 214
Jeffrey Fair
Artist in Residence, French Horn
jbfair@uw.edu
(206) 604-0610
MUS 335
David Gordon, trumpet David Gordon
Chair, Brass; Artist in Residence, Trumpet
dfgordon@uw.edu
(206) 685-2239
MUS 336
Seth Krimsky
Artist in Residence, Bassoon
skrimeth@gmail.com
(206) 543-9260
MUS 324
Jennifer Nelson
Artist in Residence, Clarinet
jenn2009@uw.edu
(206) 543-9260
MUS 324
Christopher Olka
Artist in Residence, Tuba & Trombone
seattletuba@me.com
(206) 543-7840
MUS 336
Donna Shin
Chair; Woodwinds; Assistant Professor, Flute
flute@uw.edu
(206) 543-9877
MUS 207
Shannon Spicciati
Artist in Residence, Oboe
spiccisk@uw.edu
(206) 685-2239
MUS 50
Office Hours: by appointment

Percussion

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Tom Collier
Chair, Percussion; Professor, Percussion
mallets@uw.edu
(206) 543-8259
MNY 59E
Michael Crusoe
Artist in Residence, Timpani
timpo2k@msn.com
Steve Korn
Artist in Residence, Drums
stvkrn@uw.edu
(206) 543-9874
MUS 330
Michael Werner
Artist in Residence, Percussion
maw36@uw.edu

Guitar

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Partington
Artist in Residence, Guitar
mparting@uw.edu
(206) 543-6939
MUS 10

Harp

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Valerie Muzzolini Gordon
Artist in Residence, Harp
gordonv@uw.edu
(206) 543-9466
MNY 56

Orchestral Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Ludovic Morlot
Chair, Orchestral Conducting; Affiliate Professor
David Alexander Rahbee
Director, UW Symphony; Artist in Residence
darahbee@uw.edu
(206) 543-1209
MUS 209

Wind Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Timothy Salzman
Chair, Wind Ensemble Conducting; Professor
salzman@uw.edu
(206) 685-8050
MUS 217

Choral Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Associate Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Stephen Stubbs
Director, Baroque Opera; Senior Artist in Residence
seattlestubbs@gmail.com
(206) 543-1230
MUS 105
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Fellow; Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

Music History

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
George Bozarth
Professor; Brahms Archives
gbozarth@uw.edu
(206) 543-0400
MUS 225
Elena Dubinets
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Music History
dubinets@uw.edu
John Hanford
Lecturer
jhanford@uw.edu MUS 25
Stephen Rumph
Associate Professor
srumph@uw.edu
(206) 543-9403
MUS 26
Larry Starr
Waters Endowed Professor
lstarr@uw.edu
(206) 543-8348
MUS 331B
Office Hours: Mondays, 10:30-12:00
JoAnn Taricani
Chair, Music History; Associate Professor; Graduate Program Coordinator
taricani@uw.edu
(206) 685-0569
MUS 18
Judy Tsou
Head, Music Library; Affiliate Assistant Professor, Music History
jstsou@uw.edu
(206) 543-1168
MUS 113
Office Hours: By Appointment

Music Theory

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Jonathan W. Bernard
Chair, Music Theory; Professor
jbernard@uw.edu
(206) 543-4889
MUS 16
Michael Berry
Lecturer
mberry3@uw.edu MUS 335
Brian Cobb
Lecturer
bcobb@uw.edu
(206) 543-9878
MUS 335

Choral Activities

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Associate Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Phyllis Byrdwell
Artist in Residence; Director of UW Gospel Choir
phmaby@uw.edu
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Fellow; Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

Voice Program

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Thomas Harper
Associate Professor, Voice
tharper@uw.edu
(206) 543-1219
MUS 311
Philip Kelsey
Artist in Residence
philipkelsey3441@msn.com
Albert L. Merati
Adjunct Professor, Voice (from UW School of Medicine)
Martin Nevdahl
Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Voice (from UW Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences
Kari Ragan
Artist in Residence, Voice; Voice Pedagogy; Vocal Health
kragan@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 205
Cyndia Sieden
Artist in Residence, Voice
siedec@uw.edu
Stephen Stubbs
Director, Baroque Opera; Senior Artist in Residence
seattlestubbs@gmail.com
(206) 543-1230
MUS 105
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Fellow; Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319