People - Faculty, by Area of Study

Primary tabs

Composition

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Joseph Anderson
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Composition
Charles Corey
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Composition; Director, Harry Partch Instrumentarium
crcorey@uw.edu MUS 21
Joël-François Durand
Associate Director, School of Music (on leave Fall 2017); Professor, Composition
jdurand@uw.edu
(206) 543-1229
MUS 108
Huck Hodge
Chair, Composition; Associate Professor
hhodge@uw.edu
(206) 543-1232
MUS 325
Richard Karpen
Director, School of Music; Aura Morrison Endowed Professor
karpen@uw.edu
(206) 543-2071
MUS 106
Juan Pampin
Professor, Composition; Director, DXARTS
pampin@uw.edu
(206) 616-6258
RAI 207

Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers (Photo: Steve Korn) Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Associate Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
Ludovic Morlot
Chair, Orchestral Conducting; Affiliate Professor
David Alexander Rahbee
Director, UW Symphony; Senior Artist in Residence
darahbee@uw.edu
(206) 543-1209
MUS 209
Timothy Salzman
Chair, Wind Ensemble Conducting; Professor
salzman@uw.edu
(206) 685-8050
MUS 217
Stephen Stubbs
Director, Baroque Opera; Senior Artist in Residence
seattlestubbs@gmail.com
(206) 543-1230
MUS 105
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

Ethnomusicology

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Marisol Berrios-Miranda Marisol Berríos-Miranda
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
Patricia Shehan Campbell
Professor, Music Education, Ethnomusicology
pcamp@uw.edu
(206) 543-4768
MUS 31B
Shannon Dudley
Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Associate Professor
dudley@uw.edu
(206) 543-6308
MUS 28E
Laurel Sercombe
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
julius@uw.edu
(206) 543-0974
MUS 28B
Christina Sunardi Christina Sunardi
Chair, Ethnomusicology; Associate Professor
csunardi@uw.edu
(206) 543-0266
MUS 28C
John Vallier John Vallier
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
Bell Yung, Ethnomusicology Bell Yung
Affiliate Professor, Ethnomusicology

Instrumental Performance

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Brockman
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
brockman@uw.edu
(206) 616-6209
MUS 50
Tom Collier
Professor Emeritus, Jazz Studies
mallets@uw.edu
Tekla Cunningham
Artist in Residence, Violin and Baroque Violin
teklac@uw.edu
John DiCesare, tuba John DiCesare
Artist in Residence, Tuba
dicesare@uw.edu
Jeffrey Fair
Artist in Residence, French Horn
jbfair@uw.edu
(206) 604-0610
MUS 335
Office Hours: By Appointment
Stephen Fissel Stephen Fissel
Artist in Residence, Trombone
stfissel@uw.edu MUS 50
David Gordon, trumpet David Gordon
Chair, Brass; Artist in Residence, Trumpet
dfgordon@uw.edu
(206) 685-2239
MUS 336
Valerie Muzzolini Gordon
Artist in Residence, Harp
gordonv@uw.edu
(206) 543-9466
MNY 56
Rhonda Kline
Director of Accompanying; Artist in Residence
rkline@uw.edu
(206) 221-5126
MUS 4
Seth Krimsky
Artist in Residence, Bassoon
skrimeth@gmail.com
(206) 543-9260
MUS 337
Barry Lieberman
Artist in Residence, Double Bass
dbass@uw.edu
(206) 685-9112
MUS 330
Ben Lulich, clarinet Ben Lulich
Artist-in-Residence, Instrumental Performance; Clarinet
lulichbe@uw.edu
Mary Lynch Mary Lynch
Artist in Residence, Oboe
mloboe@uw.edu MUS 337
Robin McCabe
Professor, Piano
rmccabe@uw.edu
(206) 543-1223
MUS 204
Brad McDavid
Director of Husky Marching Band
bmcdavid@uw.edu
(206) 543-7383
Graves Bldg
Michael Partington Michael Partington
Artist in Residence, Guitar
guitar@uw.edu
(206) 543-6939
MUS 10
Office Hours: By appointment
Ronald Patterson
Professor, Violin
rpatter@uw.edu
(206) 543-1227
MUS 210
Craig Sheppard
Chair, Keyboard; Professor, Piano
mufeng@uw.edu
(206) 543-1279
MUS 206
Donna Shin
Chair; Woodwinds; Associate Professor, Flute
flute@uw.edu MUS 207
Office Hours: By appointment
Carole Terry
Professor, Organ and Harpsichord
cterry@uw.edu
(206) 543-1184
MUS 9
Saeunn Thorsteinsdottir Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir
Artist in Residence, Cello
saeunn@uw.edu MUS 205
Cristina Valdés, piano Cristina Valdés
Artist in Residence, Piano; Director, Modern Music Ensemble
cvaldes@uw.edu
206-543-6926
MUS 211
Melia Watras
Chair, Strings; Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Professor, Viola
mwatras@uw.edu
(206) 543-1233
MUS 202
Bonnie Whiting Bonnie Whiting
Chair, Percussion Studies; Artist in Residence
bwhiting@uw.edu

Jazz and Improvised Music

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Luke Bergman
Artist in Residence, Bass
bergmanl@uw.edu
(206) 543-9260
MUS 311
Tom Collier
Professor Emeritus, Jazz Studies
mallets@uw.edu
guitarist Bill Frisell Bill Frisell
Affiliate Professor, Jazz Studies
Gina Funes
Lecturer; Vocal Performance for Non-Majors
gfunes@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 301
Paul Harshman Paul Harshman
Artist in Residence, Jazz Studies (Big Band)
paulh23@uw.edu
Ted Poor
Artist in Residence, Drums
tedpoor@gmail.com
(206) 543-9874
MUS 311
Fred Radke
Lecturer; Jazz (Big Band era); Honorary Director, UW Big Band
fradke@uw.edu
(206) 543-1185
MUS 301
Marc Seales, UW Music Marc Seales
Professor, Jazz Piano
mseales@uw.edu
(206) 543-1231
MUS 14
Greg Sinibaldi
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
sinibald@uw.edu
Cuong Vu
Chair, Jazz Studies; Donald E. Petersen Endowed Professor
cuongvu@uw.edu MUS 7

Keyboard

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Rhonda Kline
Director of Accompanying; Artist in Residence
rkline@uw.edu
(206) 221-5126
MUS 4
Robin McCabe
Professor, Piano
rmccabe@uw.edu
(206) 543-1223
MUS 204
Craig Sheppard
Chair, Keyboard; Professor, Piano
mufeng@uw.edu
(206) 543-1279
MUS 206
Carole Terry
Professor, Organ and Harpsichord
cterry@uw.edu
(206) 543-1184
MUS 9
Cristina Valdés, piano Cristina Valdés
Artist in Residence, Piano; Director, Modern Music Ensemble
cvaldes@uw.edu
206-543-6926
MUS 211

Music Education

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Patricia Shehan Campbell
Professor, Music Education, Ethnomusicology
pcamp@uw.edu
(206) 543-4768
MUS 31B
Ellen Dissanayake
Affiliate Professor, Music Education
Steven J. Morrison
Chair, Music Education; Professor
sjmorris@uw.edu
(206) 543-8986
MUS 31C
Christopher Roberts Christopher Roberts
Lecturer, Music Education
cr777@uw.edu MUS 31A

Musicology and Music Theory

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Jonathan W. Bernard
Chair, Music Theory; Professor
jbernard@uw.edu
(206) 543-4889
MUS 16
George Bozarth
Professor, Music History; Brahms Archives
gbozarth@uw.edu
(206) 543-0400
MUS 225
Stephen Rumph
Associate Professor, Music History
srumph@uw.edu
(206) 543-9403
MUS 26
Larry Starr
Chair, American Music Studies; Waters Endowed Professor
lstarr@uw.edu
(206) 543-8348
MUS 331B
Office Hours: Mondays, 10:30-11:30
JoAnn Taricani
Chair, Music History; Acting Associate Director, School of Music (Fall 2017); Associate Professor; Graduate Program Coordinator
taricani@uw.edu
(206) 685-0569
MUS 18
Judy Tsou
Affiliate Assistant Professor, American Music Studies & Music History
jstsou@uw.edu
(206) 543-1168
Office Hours: By Appointment

Strings

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Tekla Cunningham
Artist in Residence, Violin and Baroque Violin
teklac@uw.edu
Barry Lieberman
Artist in Residence, Double Bass
dbass@uw.edu
(206) 685-9112
MUS 330
Ronald Patterson
Professor, Violin
rpatter@uw.edu
(206) 543-1227
MUS 210
Saeunn Thorsteinsdottir Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir
Artist in Residence, Cello
saeunn@uw.edu MUS 205
Melia Watras
Chair, Strings; Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Professor, Viola
mwatras@uw.edu
(206) 543-1233
MUS 202

Vocal Performance

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers (Photo: Steve Korn) Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Associate Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
Phyllis Byrdwell Phyllis Byrdwell
Artist in Residence; Director of UW Gospel Choir
phmaby@uw.edu
Thomas Harper
Associate Professor, Voice
tharper@uw.edu
(206) 543-1219
MUS 324
Albert L. Merati
Adjunct Professor, Voice (from UW School of Medicine)
amerati@uw.edu
Martin Nevdahl
Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Voice (from UW Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences)
Kari Ragan Kari Ragan
Artist in Residence, Voice; Voice Pedagogy; Vocal Health
kragan@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 330
Cyndia Sieden
Artist in Residence, Voice
siedec@uw.edu MUS 210
Stephen Stubbs
Director, Baroque Opera; Senior Artist in Residence
seattlestubbs@gmail.com
(206) 543-1230
MUS 105
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

Woodwinds and Brass

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Brockman
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
brockman@uw.edu
(206) 616-6209
MUS 50
John DiCesare, tuba John DiCesare
Artist in Residence, Tuba
dicesare@uw.edu
Jeffrey Fair
Artist in Residence, French Horn
jbfair@uw.edu
(206) 604-0610
MUS 335
Office Hours: By Appointment
Stephen Fissel Stephen Fissel
Artist in Residence, Trombone
stfissel@uw.edu MUS 50
David Gordon, trumpet David Gordon
Chair, Brass; Artist in Residence, Trumpet
dfgordon@uw.edu
(206) 685-2239
MUS 336
Seth Krimsky
Artist in Residence, Bassoon
skrimeth@gmail.com
(206) 543-9260
MUS 337
Ben Lulich, clarinet Ben Lulich
Artist-in-Residence, Instrumental Performance; Clarinet
lulichbe@uw.edu
Mary Lynch Mary Lynch
Artist in Residence, Oboe
mloboe@uw.edu MUS 337
Donna Shin
Chair; Woodwinds; Associate Professor, Flute
flute@uw.edu MUS 207
Office Hours: By appointment

Percussion

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Bonnie Whiting Bonnie Whiting
Chair, Percussion Studies; Artist in Residence
bwhiting@uw.edu

Guitar

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Partington Michael Partington
Artist in Residence, Guitar
guitar@uw.edu
(206) 543-6939
MUS 10
Office Hours: By appointment

Harp

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Valerie Muzzolini Gordon
Artist in Residence, Harp
gordonv@uw.edu
(206) 543-9466
MNY 56

Orchestral Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Ludovic Morlot
Chair, Orchestral Conducting; Affiliate Professor
David Alexander Rahbee
Director, UW Symphony; Senior Artist in Residence
darahbee@uw.edu
(206) 543-1209
MUS 209

Wind Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Timothy Salzman
Chair, Wind Ensemble Conducting; Professor
salzman@uw.edu
(206) 685-8050
MUS 217

Choral Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers (Photo: Steve Korn) Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Associate Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
Stephen Stubbs
Director, Baroque Opera; Senior Artist in Residence
seattlestubbs@gmail.com
(206) 543-1230
MUS 105
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

Music History

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
George Bozarth
Professor, Music History; Brahms Archives
gbozarth@uw.edu
(206) 543-0400
MUS 225
Elena Dubinets
Affiliate Assistant Professor, American Music Studies & Music History
dubinets@uw.edu
John Hanford
Lecturer, Music History
jhanford@uw.edu MUS 25
Leann Martin
Interim Admissions and Recruitment Coordinator, Lecturer, Music History
lwheless@uw.edu
206-685-9872
MUS 124
Office Hours: Prospective students are encouraged to make an appointment.
Stephen Rumph
Associate Professor, Music History
srumph@uw.edu
(206) 543-9403
MUS 26
Larry Starr
Chair, American Music Studies; Waters Endowed Professor
lstarr@uw.edu
(206) 543-8348
MUS 331B
Office Hours: Mondays, 10:30-11:30
JoAnn Taricani
Chair, Music History; Acting Associate Director, School of Music (Fall 2017); Associate Professor; Graduate Program Coordinator
taricani@uw.edu
(206) 685-0569
MUS 18
Judy Tsou
Affiliate Assistant Professor, American Music Studies & Music History
jstsou@uw.edu
(206) 543-1168
Office Hours: By Appointment

Music Theory

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Jonathan W. Bernard
Chair, Music Theory; Professor
jbernard@uw.edu
(206) 543-4889
MUS 16
Michael Berry
Lecturer, Music Theory
mberry3@uw.edu MUS 335

Choral Activities

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers (Photo: Steve Korn) Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Associate Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
Phyllis Byrdwell Phyllis Byrdwell
Artist in Residence; Director of UW Gospel Choir
phmaby@uw.edu
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

Voice Program

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Thomas Harper
Associate Professor, Voice
tharper@uw.edu
(206) 543-1219
MUS 324
Albert L. Merati
Adjunct Professor, Voice (from UW School of Medicine)
amerati@uw.edu
Martin Nevdahl
Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Voice (from UW Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences)
Kari Ragan Kari Ragan
Artist in Residence, Voice; Voice Pedagogy; Vocal Health
kragan@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 330
Cyndia Sieden
Artist in Residence, Voice
siedec@uw.edu MUS 210
Stephen Stubbs
Director, Baroque Opera; Senior Artist in Residence
seattlestubbs@gmail.com
(206) 543-1230
MUS 105
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Donald E. Petersen Associate Professor
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319

American Music Studies

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Elena Dubinets
Affiliate Assistant Professor, American Music Studies & Music History
dubinets@uw.edu
Huck Hodge
Chair, Composition; Associate Professor
hhodge@uw.edu
(206) 543-1232
MUS 325
Larry Starr
Chair, American Music Studies; Waters Endowed Professor
lstarr@uw.edu
(206) 543-8348
MUS 331B
Office Hours: Mondays, 10:30-11:30
Christina Sunardi Christina Sunardi
Chair, Ethnomusicology; Associate Professor
csunardi@uw.edu
(206) 543-0266
MUS 28C
Judy Tsou
Affiliate Assistant Professor, American Music Studies & Music History
jstsou@uw.edu
(206) 543-1168
Office Hours: By Appointment
Cuong Vu
Chair, Jazz Studies; Donald E. Petersen Endowed Professor
cuongvu@uw.edu MUS 7