You are here

Trio Nova Mundi: Femmes Notable 

Friday, March 3, 2017 - 7:30pm
Femmes Notables concert flyer

The all-female ensemble Trio Nova Mundi--Becky Billock, piano; Maureen Conlon Gutierrez, violin; and Elisa Kohanski, cello-presents its  first program devoted exclusively to music by women, freshly minted in time for Women’s History Month 2017.  The program includes works by Mel Bonis, Elisenda Fabregas, Gwyneth Walker, and Fanny Mendelssohn. Trio Nova Mundi is ensemble-in-residence at Grove City College in Western Pennsylvania. Pianist Becky Billock is a UW Music alumna and former student of Craig Sheppard.

About Femmes Notables 

Women’s music is music.  And yet there is value in celebrating the works of women.  From the earliest women composers, who were discouraged from writing and publishing because of their gender, to the contemporary composers who work relentlessly to achieve recognition and representation in a yet male-dominated arena, women have had a lot to say musically.  And their voices deserve to be heard.

Since our trio’s inception in 2012 we have included music by women on nearly every program.  As an all-female ensemble we are extremely proud to present our very first program devoted exclusively to music by women, freshly minted in time for Women’s History Month 2017.  



Mel Bonis – Soir-Matin

In the expressive language of the French Impressionists, Soir-Matin vividly describes a glorious evening, followed by an early morning awakening. 

Elisenda Fabregas—Voces de mi Tierra

This exotic flamenco-style piece carries us to Granada, Spain where a gypsy and a peasant share a romantic evening at the Alhambra and then dance away into the night. 

Gwyneth Walker—New World Dances

Get into the groove with these down-home, barn-stomping, rafter-raising dances.  We’ll throw in a Soft Shoe, and a Slow Dance, along with a few upbeat numbers to get your toe tapping.

Fanny Mendelssohn—Trio in d minor, Op. 11

Not to be outdone by her brother, Felix’s, works for piano trio, Fanny does not disappoint with this masterpiece.  Her four movement tour de force is adorned with all the hallmarks of the romantic period:  sweeping melodies, dulcet lyricism, and torrents of virtuosity. 

Full musician bios at: