People - Faculty, by Area of Study

Primary tabs

Composition

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Joseph Anderson
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Composition
Charles Corey
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Composition; Director, Harry Partch Instrumentarium
crcorey@uw.edu MUS 21
Faculty composer Joël-François Durand. Photo: Steve Korn. Joël-François Durand
Associate Director, School of Music; Donald E. Petersen Endowed Professor, Composition
jdurand@uw.edu
(206) 543-1229
MUS 108
Faculty Composer Huck Hodge Huck Hodge
Chair, Composition; Professor
hhodge@uw.edu
(206) 543-1232
MUS 325
Office Hours: ON LEAVE UNTIL 2020-2021
Faculty composer Richard Karpen. Photo: Steve Korn Richard Karpen
Director, School of Music; Aura Morrison Endowed Professor
karpen@uw.edu
(206) 543-2071
MUS 106
Composer Yigit Kolat Yiğit Kolat
Lecturer, Composition; Alumnus
ykolat@uw.edu
Juan Pampin
Ruth Sutton Waters Endowed Professor, Composition; Director, DXARTS
pampin@uw.edu
(206) 616-6258
RAI 207

Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Ruth Sutton Waters Endowed Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
Ludovic Morlot
Affiliate Professor
David Alexander Rahbee David Alexander Rahbee
Director, UW Symphony; Chair, Orchestral Conducting; Senior Artist in Residence
darahbee@uw.edu
(206) 543-1209
MUS 209
Office Hours: By appointment
Timothy Salzman
Chair, Wind Ensemble Conducting; Professor
salzman@uw.edu
(206) 685-8050
MUS 217
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Professor, Choral Conducting
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319
Office Hours: listed on syllabi and by appointment

Ethnomusicology

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Marisol Berrios-Miranda Marisol Berríos-Miranda
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
berriosm@uw.edu
Patricia Campbell Patricia Shehan Campbell
Chair, Music Education; Professor, Music Education, Ethnomusicology
pcamp@uw.edu
(206) 543-4768
MUS 31B
Office Hours: By appointment, except in the case of regular PhD research student appointments
Ethnomusicology professor Shannon Dudley (Photo: Steve Korn). Shannon Dudley
Professor, Ethnomusicology
dudley@uw.edu
(206) 543-6308
MUS 28E
Michelle Habell-Pallán Michelle Habell-Pallán
Adjunct Professor, Ethnomusicology
mhabellp@uw.edu
(206) 543-6981
Jonathan Kertzer Jonathan Kertzer
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
Laurel Sercombe
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
julius@uw.edu
(206) 543-0974
MUS 28B
Christina Sunardi Christina Sunardi
Chair, Ethnomusicology; Associate Professor; Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor
csunardi@uw.edu
(206) 543-0266
MUS 28C
John Vallier John Vallier
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology Curator
vallier@uw.edu
(206) 616-1210
Suzzallo 370
Office Hours: By appointement
Bell Yung, Ethnomusicology Bell Yung
Affiliate Professor, Ethnomusicology

Instrumental Performance

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Brockman
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
brockman@uw.edu
(206) 616-6209
MUS 50
Tom Collier
Professor Emeritus, Jazz Studies
mallets@uw.edu
Tekla Cunningham
Artist in Residence; Director, Baroque Ensemble
teklac@uw.edu
John DeCesare John DiCesare
Artist in Residence, Tuba and Trombone
dicesare@uw.edu
Jeffrey Fair
Artist in Residence, French Horn
jbfair@uw.edu
(206) 604-0610
MUS 335
Office Hours: By Appointment
David Gordon, trumpet David Gordon
Chair, Brass; Artist in Residence, Trumpet
dfgordon@uw.edu
(206) 685-2239
MUS 336
Valerie Muzzolini Gordon
Artist in Residence, Harp
gordonv@uw.edu
(206) 543-9466
MNY 56
Jonathan Karschney by Clarey McDaniel Jonathan Karschney
Artist in Residence, French Horn
jkarsch@uw.edu
Rhonda Kline
Director of Accompanying; Artist in Residence
rkline@uw.edu
(206) 221-5126
MUS 4
Seth Krimsky
Artist in Residence, Bassoon
skrimeth@gmail.com
(206) 543-9260
MUS 337
Rachel Lee Priday, violin Rachel Lee Priday
Assistant Professor, Violin
rlpriday@uw.edu
(206) 221-8470
MUS 22
Barry Lieberman
Artist in Residence, Double Bass
dbass@uw.edu
(206) 685-9112
MUS 330
Ben Lulich, clarinet Ben Lulich
Artist in Residence, Clarinet
lulichbe@uw.edu
Mary Lynch Mary Lynch
Artist in Residence, Oboe
mloboe@uw.edu MUS 337
Robin McCabe
Professor, Piano
rmccabe@uw.edu
(206) 543-1223
MUS 204
Brad McDavid
Director of Husky Marching Band
bmcdavid@uw.edu
(206) 543-7383
Graves Bldg
Michael Partington, guitar studies chair Michael Partington
Artist in Residence, Guitar
guitar@uw.edu
(206) 543-6939
MUS 10
Office Hours: By appointment
Ronald Patterson
Professor, Violin
rpatter@uw.edu
(206) 543-1227
MUS 210
Craig Sheppard
Chair, Keyboard; Professor, Piano
mufeng@uw.edu
(206) 543-1279
MUS 206
Donna Shin Donna Shin
Chair; Woodwinds; Associate Professor, Flute
flute@uw.edu MUS 207
Office Hours: By appointment
Saeunn Thorsteinsdottir Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir
Assistant Professor, Cello; Strings Chamber Music Coordinator
saeunn@uw.edu MUS 205
Cristina Valdés, piano Cristina Valdés
Artist in Residence, Piano; Director, Modern Music Ensemble
cvaldes@uw.edu
206-543-6926
MUS 211
Melia Watras
Chair, Strings; Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Professor, Viola
mwatras@uw.edu
(206) 543-1233
MUS 202
Bonnie Whiting Bonnie Whiting
Chair, Percussion Studies; Assistant Professor
bwhiting@uw.edu

Jazz and Improvised Music

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Tom Collier
Professor Emeritus, Jazz Studies
mallets@uw.edu
guitarist Bill Frisell Bill Frisell
Affiliate Professor, Jazz Studies
Gina Funes Gina Funes
Lecturer; Vocal Performance for Non-Majors
gfunes@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 301
Paul Harshman, big band director Paul Harshman
Artist in Residence, Jazz Studies (Big Band)
paulh23@uw.edu
Ted Poor
Assistant Professor, Drums
tedpoor@gmail.com
(206) 543-9874
MUS 311
Fred Radke
Lecturer; Jazz (Big Band era); Honorary Director, UW Big Band
fradke@uw.edu
(206) 543-1185
MUS 301
Steve Rodby Steve Rodby
Artist in Residence, Bass
srodby@uw.edu
Marc Seales Marc Seales
Professor, Jazz Piano
mseales@uw.edu
(206) 543-1231
MUS 14
Cuong Vu
Chair and Professor, Jazz Studies; Floyd and Delores Jones Endowed Chair in the Arts
cuongvu@uw.edu MUS 7

Keyboard

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Joseph Adam, organ Joseph Adam
Artist in Residence, Organ
Rhonda Kline
Director of Accompanying; Artist in Residence
rkline@uw.edu
(206) 221-5126
MUS 4
Robin McCabe
Professor, Piano
rmccabe@uw.edu
(206) 543-1223
MUS 204
Craig Sheppard
Chair, Keyboard; Professor, Piano
mufeng@uw.edu
(206) 543-1279
MUS 206
Cristina Valdés, piano Cristina Valdés
Artist in Residence, Piano; Director, Modern Music Ensemble
cvaldes@uw.edu
206-543-6926
MUS 211

Music Education

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Patricia Campbell Patricia Shehan Campbell
Chair, Music Education; Professor, Music Education, Ethnomusicology
pcamp@uw.edu
(206) 543-4768
MUS 31B
Office Hours: By appointment, except in the case of regular PhD research student appointments
Ellen Dissanayake
Affiliate Professor, Music Education
Christopher Roberts, Music Ed Christopher Roberts
Lecturer, Music Education
cr777@uw.edu MUS 31A
Huib Schippers Huib Schippers
Affiliate Professor, Music Education
Kevin Weingarten, visiting professor in Music Education at the University of Washington Kevin Weingarten
Visiting Lecturer
kweino@uw.edu
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Professor, Choral Conducting
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319
Office Hours: listed on syllabi and by appointment

Music History and Music Theory

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Jonathan W. Bernard
Chair, Music Theory; Professor
jbernard@uw.edu
(206) 543-4889
MUS 16
Music History Professor Stephen Rumph. Photo: Steve Korn Stephen Rumph
Associate Professor, Music History
srumph@uw.edu
(206) 543-9403
MUS 26
JoAnn Taricani, professor of Music History JoAnn Taricani
Chair, Music History; Associate Professor; Graduate Program Coordinator
taricani@uw.edu
(206) 685-0569
MUS 18
Judy Tsou
Librarian Emeritus; Affiliate Assistant Professor, Music History (Retired)
jstsou@uw.edu Office Hours: By Appointment

Strings

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Tekla Cunningham
Artist in Residence; Director, Baroque Ensemble
teklac@uw.edu
Rachel Lee Priday, violin Rachel Lee Priday
Assistant Professor, Violin
rlpriday@uw.edu
(206) 221-8470
MUS 22
Barry Lieberman
Artist in Residence, Double Bass
dbass@uw.edu
(206) 685-9112
MUS 330
Ronald Patterson
Professor, Violin
rpatter@uw.edu
(206) 543-1227
MUS 210
Saeunn Thorsteinsdottir Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir
Assistant Professor, Cello; Strings Chamber Music Coordinator
saeunn@uw.edu MUS 205
Melia Watras
Chair, Strings; Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Professor, Viola
mwatras@uw.edu
(206) 543-1233
MUS 202

Vocal Performance

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Ruth Sutton Waters Endowed Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
Phyllis Byrdwell Phyllis Byrdwell
Artist in Residence; Director of UW Gospel Choir
phmaby@uw.edu
Thomas Harper
Associate Professor, Voice
tharper@uw.edu
(206) 543-1219
MUS 324
Albert Merati Albert L. Merati
Adjunct Professor, Voice (from UW School of Medicine)
Martin Nevdahl Martin Nevdahl
Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Voice (from UW Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences)
mnevdahl@uw.edu
(206) 543-3384
Kari Ragan Kari Ragan
Artist in Residence, Voice; Voice Pedagogy; Vocal Health
kragan@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 330
Cyndia Sieden
Artist in Residence, Voice
siedec@uw.edu MUS 210
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Professor, Choral Conducting
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319
Office Hours: listed on syllabi and by appointment

Woodwinds and Brass

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Brockman
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
brockman@uw.edu
(206) 616-6209
MUS 50
John DeCesare John DiCesare
Artist in Residence, Tuba and Trombone
dicesare@uw.edu
Jeffrey Fair
Artist in Residence, French Horn
jbfair@uw.edu
(206) 604-0610
MUS 335
Office Hours: By Appointment
David Gordon, trumpet David Gordon
Chair, Brass; Artist in Residence, Trumpet
dfgordon@uw.edu
(206) 685-2239
MUS 336
Jonathan Karschney by Clarey McDaniel Jonathan Karschney
Artist in Residence, French Horn
jkarsch@uw.edu
Seth Krimsky
Artist in Residence, Bassoon
skrimeth@gmail.com
(206) 543-9260
MUS 337
Ben Lulich, clarinet Ben Lulich
Artist in Residence, Clarinet
lulichbe@uw.edu
Mary Lynch Mary Lynch
Artist in Residence, Oboe
mloboe@uw.edu MUS 337
Donna Shin Donna Shin
Chair; Woodwinds; Associate Professor, Flute
flute@uw.edu MUS 207
Office Hours: By appointment

Percussion

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Bonnie Whiting Bonnie Whiting
Chair, Percussion Studies; Assistant Professor
bwhiting@uw.edu

Guitar

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Michael Partington, guitar studies chair Michael Partington
Artist in Residence, Guitar
guitar@uw.edu
(206) 543-6939
MUS 10
Office Hours: By appointment

Harp

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Valerie Muzzolini Gordon
Artist in Residence, Harp
gordonv@uw.edu
(206) 543-9466
MNY 56

Orchestral Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Ludovic Morlot
Affiliate Professor
David Alexander Rahbee David Alexander Rahbee
Director, UW Symphony; Chair, Orchestral Conducting; Senior Artist in Residence
darahbee@uw.edu
(206) 543-1209
MUS 209
Office Hours: By appointment

Wind Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Timothy Salzman
Chair, Wind Ensemble Conducting; Professor
salzman@uw.edu
(206) 685-8050
MUS 217

Choral Conducting

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Ruth Sutton Waters Endowed Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Professor, Choral Conducting
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319
Office Hours: listed on syllabi and by appointment

Music History

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Elena Dubinets
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Music History
dubinets@uw.edu
John Hanford
Lecturer, Music History
jhanford@uw.edu MUS 25
Kerry O' Brien headshot Kerry O'Brien
Lecturer, Music History
Mark Rodgers, lecturer in Music History Mark Rodgers
Lecturer, Music History
markrodg@uw.edu
Music History Professor Stephen Rumph. Photo: Steve Korn Stephen Rumph
Associate Professor, Music History
srumph@uw.edu
(206) 543-9403
MUS 26
JoAnn Taricani, professor of Music History JoAnn Taricani
Chair, Music History; Associate Professor; Graduate Program Coordinator
taricani@uw.edu
(206) 685-0569
MUS 18
Judy Tsou
Librarian Emeritus; Affiliate Assistant Professor, Music History (Retired)
jstsou@uw.edu Office Hours: By Appointment

Music Theory

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Jonathan W. Bernard
Chair, Music Theory; Professor
jbernard@uw.edu
(206) 543-4889
MUS 16
Michael Berry
Lecturer, Music Theory
mberry3@uw.edu MUS 335

Choral Activities

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Geoffrey Boers Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Ruth Sutton Waters Endowed Professor
boersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-9212
MUS 222
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
Phyllis Byrdwell Phyllis Byrdwell
Artist in Residence; Director of UW Gospel Choir
phmaby@uw.edu
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Professor, Choral Conducting
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319
Office Hours: listed on syllabi and by appointment

Voice Program

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Thomas Harper
Associate Professor, Voice
tharper@uw.edu
(206) 543-1219
MUS 324
Albert Merati Albert L. Merati
Adjunct Professor, Voice (from UW School of Medicine)
Martin Nevdahl Martin Nevdahl
Adjunct Senior Lecturer, Voice (from UW Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences)
mnevdahl@uw.edu
(206) 543-3384
Kari Ragan Kari Ragan
Artist in Residence, Voice; Voice Pedagogy; Vocal Health
kragan@uw.edu
(206) 543-1214
MUS 330
Cyndia Sieden
Artist in Residence, Voice
siedec@uw.edu MUS 210
Giselle Wyers
Chair, Voice/Choral; Professor, Choral Conducting
wyersg@uw.edu
(206) 543-1398
MUS 319
Office Hours: listed on syllabi and by appointment

Band Activities

Photo Name/Position Contact Office Hours
Kevin Weingarten, visiting professor in Music Education at the University of Washington Kevin Weingarten
Visiting Lecturer
kweino@uw.edu