You are here

Faculty by Last Name

Jordan Anderson, double bass
Artist in Residence, Double Bass
jha77@uw.edu
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Composition
Marisol Berrios-Miranda
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
berriosm@uw.edu
Jessica Bissett Perea, adjunct faculty Music History
Associate Professor, American Indian Studies; Adjunct Associate Professor, Music History
jbperea@uw.edu
Professor Geoffrey Boers
Director of Choral Activities; Ruth Sutton Waters Endowed Professor
boersg@uw.edu / (206) 543-9212
Office Hours: Open, by appointment
MUS 222
Jeffrey Bowen, Composition (Photo: Steve Korn).
Lecturer, Composition, Music Theory
bowenjr@uw.edu
Saxophonist Michael Brockman
Artist in Residence, Saxophone
brockman@uw.edu / (206) 616-6209
MUS 50
Phyllis Byrdwell
Artist in Residence; Director of UW Gospel Choir
phmaby@uw.edu
Tekla Cunningham
Artist in Residence; Director, Baroque Ensemble
teklac@uw.edu
Ethnomusicology professor Shannon Dudley (Photo: Steve Korn).
Chair, Ethnomusicology; Professor
dudley@uw.edu / (206) 543-6308
MUS 28E
Joël-François Durand
Acting Director; Aura B. Morrison Endowed Professor, Composition
jdurand@uw.edu / (206) 543-5015
MUS 106
Trombonist Eden Garza
Artist in Residence, Trombone
egarza8@uw.edu
David Gordon, trumpet
Chair, Brass; Artist in Residence, Trumpet
dfgordon@uw.edu / (206) 685-2239
MUS 09
Michelle Habell-Pallán
Adjunct Professor, Ethnomusicology
mhabellp@uw.edu / (206) 543-6981
Associate Professor, Voice
tharper@uw.edu / (206) 543-1219
MUS 324
Faculty Composer Huck Hodge
Chair, Composition; Donald E. Petersen Endowed Professor
hhodge@uw.edu / (206) 543-1232
Office Hours: M: 8:30-9:30 (on Zoom) | Book at https://calendly.com/huckhodge/office-hours
MUS 325
Faculty composer Richard Karpen. Photo: Steve Korn
Adjunct Professor, Composition
karpen@uw.edu / (206) 543-7130
RAITT 207
Jonathan Kertzer
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
Director of Collaborative Piano; Artist in Residence
rkline@uw.edu / (206) 221-5126
MUS 4
Cellist Christine Lee
Artist in Residence, Chamber Music; Strings Chamber Music Coordinator
chslee@uw.edu
Rachel Lee Priday, violin
Assistant Professor, Violin
rlpriday@uw.edu / (206) 221-8470
MUS 22
Ben Lulich, clarinet
Artist in Residence, Clarinet
lulichbe@uw.edu
Michiko Morita Miyamoto Professor, Piano
rmccabe@uw.edu / (206) 543-1223
MUS 204
Director of Husky Marching Band
bmcdavid@uw.edu / (206) 543-7383
Graves Bldg
Artist in Residence, Harp
gordonv@uw.edu / (206) 543-9466
MNY 56
Peter Nicolas
Professor, School of Law; Adjunct Professor, Music History
pnicolas@uw.edu
Michael Partington, head of Guitar Studies
Artist in Residence, Guitar
guitar@uw.edu / (206) 543-6939
Office Hours: By appointment
MUS 10
John-Carlos Perea
Associate Professor, Ethnomusicology
jcperea@uw.edu
Office Hours: Winter 24: Beginning January 8, drop in Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:30am-12:20pm or by email appointment
MUS 28D
Associate Director; Associate Professor, Drums; Donald E. Petersen Fellowship for Excellence, Jazz Studies
tedpoor@uw.edu / (206) 543-1129
MUS 108
Artist in Residence Stephen Price, Organ
Artist in Residence, Organ Studies; Paul B. Fritts Faculty Fellow
sprice87@uw.edu
Paul Rafanelli, Bassoon
Artist in Residence, Bassoon
prafan@uw.edu
David Rahbee
Director, UW Symphony; Chair, Orchestral Conducting; Senior Artist in Residence
darahbee@uw.edu / (206) 543-1209
Office Hours: By appointment
MUS 209
Frederick Reece, Music History
Assistant Professor, Music History
freece@uw.edu
Office Hours: By appointment
MUS 336
J. Christopher Roberts, Music Education
Chair, Music Education; Lecturer; Director, Music Teacher Preparation
cr777@uw.edu
MUS 31A
Steve Rodby
Artist in Residence, Bass
srodby@uw.edu
Music History faculty Mark Rodgers
Assistant Teaching Professor, Music History
markrodg@uw.edu
Office Hours: By appointment
MUS 202
Pianist Andrew Romanick (’18 DMA, Piano)
Artist-in-Residence, Opera Workshop
ajr795@uw.edu
Cellist Sarah Rommel.
Artist in Residence, Cello
srommel@uw.edu
Stephen Rumph, Music History chair
Chair, Music History, Adelaide D. Cole Endowed Professor
srumph@uw.edu / (206) 543-9403
MUS 26
Chair, Wind Ensemble Conducting; Professor
salzman@uw.edu / (206) 685-8050
MUS 217
Huib Schippers
Affiliate Professor, Music Education
Marc Seales
Professor, Jazz Piano
mseales@uw.edu / (206) 543-1231
MUS 14
Affiliate Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
julius@uw.edu / (206) 543-0974
MUS 28B
Piano Professor Craig Sheppard
Chair, Keyboard; Michiko Morita Miyamoto Professor, Piano
mufeng@uw.edu / (206) 543-1279
MUS 206
Donna Shin
Chair; Woodwinds; Associate Professor, Flute
flute@uw.edu
Office Hours: By appointment
MUS 207
Gabriel Solis, divisional dean for the arts
Divisional Dean of the Arts, Professor, Ethnomusicology
Christina Sunardi
Associate Professor, Ethnomusicology; Adelaide D. Currie Cole Endowed Professor; Chair, UW Dance
csunardi@uw.edu / (206) 543-0266
MUS 28C
John Turman, horn
Artist in Residence, horn
turman@uw.edu
Cristina Valdés, piano
Artist in Residence, Piano; Director, Modern Music Ensemble
cvaldes@uw.edu / (206) 543-6926
MUS 211
John Vallier
Affiliate Assistant Professor; Curator, Ethnomusicology Archives
vallier@uw.edu / (206) 616-1210
Office Hours: By appointement
SUZ 370
Chair and Professor, Jazz Studies; Floyd and Delores Jones Endowed Chair in the Arts
cuongvu@uw.edu
MUS 7
Melia Watras (Photo: Michelle Smith Lewis)
Chair, Strings; Ruth Sutton Waters Endowed Professor; Professor, Viola
mwatras@uw.edu / (206) 543-4889
MUS 16
Bonnie Whiting
Chair, Percussion Studies; Ruth Sutton Waters Endowed Associate Professor of Music
bwhiting@uw.edu
oboe instructor Dan Williams
Artist in Residence, Oboe
danw7@uw.edu
Chair, Voice/Choral; Professor, Choral Conducting; Music Faculty Endowed Fund for Excellence
wyersg@uw.edu / (206) 543-1398
Office Hours: listed on syllabi and by appointment
MUS 319
Bell Yung, Ethnomusicology
Affiliate Professor, Ethnomusicology
Share