Hire a Musician

  • Donna Shin conducting a flute lesson
    Woodwinds chair Donna Shin conducts a flute lesson
  • UW Steel Drum Ensemble Steel Pan
    Steel Pan players

Select UW Music students, faculty, and alumni are available for hire for a range of events as well as for private studio instruction. The artists listed below have been endorsed by the appropriate faculty member within their degree program and are either current UW students, faculty members, or have received their degree from the UW within the past few years.

The School of Music does not directly issue contracts or negotiate terms between clients and musicians. Clients must negotiate all fees and details directly with the musicians. Please contact the artists directly for rates and availability.

Classical Piano & Organ

Name Degree Contact Information Availability
Classical Piano
Li-Cheng Hung DMA Piano Performance, 2018  646-886-5728
lchung31@gmail.com
teach, accompany, perform
Minsun Kim DMA Piano Performance minssune@gmail.com teach, accompany, perform
Yen-Chun (Kay) Yeh DMA Piano Performance, 2020 415-248-6171
annva@uw.edu 
teach, accompany, perform
Kevin Chien Ph.D. Mathematics; ARCT Royal Conservatory of Music (2009); Performance Certificate, Princeton University (2017) 609-865-7282
ckchien@uw.edu 
perform, clinician, accompany (especially voice or violin repertoire)
Alice Liu DMA Piano Performance, 2021 206-565-9198
aliu2@uw.edu 
teach, perform, collaborate
Miaojun Xu DMA Piano Performance, 2022 803-414-1679 
miaojun@uw.edu
teach, accompany, perform
Tong Liu DMA Piano Performance, 2020 425-523-8401
tongliu@uw.edu 
teach, accompany, perform, clinician
Victoria Sbarro MM Piano Performance, 2019
BM Manhattan School of Music in Classical Piano Performance
206-376-7513 
ves18@uw.edu
teach, perform, accompany, collaborate
Yiyi Chen DMA Piano Performance, 2022  917-446-2449
yiyichen@uw.edu
teach, accompany
Harriet Wong DMA Piano Performance harriet.vl.wong@gmail.com teach, accompany, perform
Yun Xie MS Statistics yunxie@uw.edu collaborate 
Chi-Hui Yen PhD Statistics  cyen31@uw.edu teach, collaborate 
Yimo Zhang DMA Piano Performance, 2020 508-685-4377
yimoz@uw.edu
 
teach, perform, events
Ye Zheng DMA Piano Performance, 2022 312-925-7158
yez28@uw.edu
 
teach, perform, church pianist, clinician
Organ
Carole Terry (faculty) contact for student referrals 206-543-1184
cterry@uw.edu 
 referrals

Classical Strings, Guitar & Harp

Name Degree Contact Information Availability
Violin
Carolyn Willis DMA String Performance, 2004
Adjunct Faculty, Bellevue College
425-885-4903; 425-941-8436
carolynwillisviolinstudios@gmail.com 
teach, perform
Viola    
Romaric Pokorny BM String Performance, 2015  425-951-0343
romaric.pokorny@gmail.com
teach
Alessandra Barrett DMA String Performance, 2019  (661) 755-3909
teach, perform solo or
with string quartet
Cello    
Isabella Kodama BM Cello Performance, 2019 kodami@uw.edu teach, perform
Yang Lu DMA Cello Performance, 2018  (412) 973-1593
yangluc@uw.edu
teach, perform
Ryan Farris
(cello/celtic fiddle)
MM String Performance, 2019 303-704-8141
rdfarris@uw.edu 
teach
Michael King DMA Cello Performance, 2021  864-680-9777
michaelkingcello@gmail.com
teach, perform, clinician, suzuki trained books 1-10
Double Bass   
Barry Lieberman (faculty) contact for student referrals (206) 685-9112
dbass@uw.edu 
 referrals
Guitar    
Connor Ritchie  BM Guitar Performance, 2019  (505) 917-1862
cjguitar@uw.edu
perform 
Max Shaffer  BM Guitar Performance, 2020

(505) 225-0442

mshaffe7@uw.edu

teach, perform
Lucas Victor BM Guitar Performance, 2019

(425) 236-9154

lucas@domopod.com

teach, perform 

Classical Winds

Name Degree Contact Information Availability
Clarinet    
Leslie Edwards  BM Orchestral Instrument, 2013  (206) 795-6332
leslie2@uw.edu
teach, perform 
Caitlin Beare DMA Woodwind Performance, 2020  703-314-0351
cb64@uw.edu
teach, perform, chamber music
Brian Schappals MM Woodwind Performance, 2019 509-844-8117
bschappals@gmail.com
teach, perform, conduct, chamber music
Flute    
Natalie Ham  DMA Woodwind Performance, 2017   (806) 977-0271
natham227@gmail.com
teach, perform
Gemma Goday
(modern & baroque flutes)
DMA Woodwind Performance, 2019 (313) 651-4090
gemmagoday@gmail.com 
teach, perform
Miao Liu MM Woodwind Performance, 2018  (206) 519-4624
miaol28@uw.edu
teach, perform 
Sarrah Flynn  BM Woodwind Performance, 2018   (425) 737-7462
sarrahflynn@gmail.com
teach, perform 
Oboe    
Logan Esterling BM Woodwind Performance, 2019 256 684-7502
esterl@uw.edu 
teach, perform, clinics 
Jamie Sanidad MM Woodwind Performance

425-829-7842

sanidad.jamie@gmail.com

teach, perform 
Saxophone    
Mike Kohfeld  Ph.D. Ethnomusicology, 2020   618-363-2635
jmko29@uw.edu
teach 
Bassoon    
Julien Tsang   jayteesong@gmail.com perform, teach
David Wall BA Woodwind Performance, 2018 wallofmusic@gmail.com perform, teach
Lucas Zeiter BM Woodwind Performance, 2020 lucas@lzeiter.com

perform, teach, masterclass

Classical Brass & Percussion

Name Degree Contact Information Availability
Horn
Matthew Anderson  DMA Brass Performance, 2016  (949) 246-1431
frankenhorn@mac.com 
teach, perform 
Anna Barbee DMA Brass Performance, 2020  602-317-5716
annabarbee87@gmail.com 
teach, perform
Kelly Brown BM Brass Performance, 2018  425-770-6842
kellylbrown@comcast.net
teach, perform
Bradley Leavens MM Brass Performance, 2018  253-230-1425
bleavens@uw.edu
teach, perform
Trombone    
Elizabeth McDaniel  MM Brass Performance, 2016   (206) 794-6173
elizabethmcdaniel92@gmail.com
teach, perform, clinics, workshops 
Antonio Patrick MM Brass Performance, 2019  253 495-8347
ap350@uw.edu
teach, perform
Trumpet    
Gabriel Palmer  DMA Brass Performance, 2018   (530) 521-7165
gabrielmarkpalmer@gmail.com
teach, perform 
David Sloan  DMA Brass Performance, 2017  (281) 857-5857
dasloan@uw.edu
teach, perform 
Ross Venneberg DMA Brass Performance, 2019 907-738-3962
rvberg@uw.edu 
teach, perform, masterclasses, conduct
Tuba    
Andy Abel  BM Tuba & Low Brass, 2017  (425) 213-2864
andyabel@uw.edu 
teach (low brass), perform (tuba) 
Julio Cruz DMA Tuba & Cimbasso, 2018  (631) 804-8359
tubajulio@gmail.com
teach, perform
Percussion    
Melanie Voytovich  DMA Percussion Performance, 2015   (716) 622-0446
mvoytovich@gmail.com
teach, perform 

Instrumental Jazz

Name Degree Contact Information Availability
Guitar    
Ronan Delisle   MM Jazz Studies ronandelislemusic@gmail.com teach, perform
Elias Hampton BM Jazz Studies eliashampton1@gmail.com
teach, perform 
Piano    
Alexander Chadsey MM Jazz Studies  achadsey@icloud.com teach, perform 
Saxophone    
Ian Mengedoht  BM Jazz Studies  ismenge@u.washington.edu teach, perform
Bass    
Anthony Lefaive BM Jazz Studies anthony.lefaive@gmail.com teach, perform 
Abbey Rae Blackwell MM Jazz Studies araeb@uw.edu  teach, perform 
Drums   
Wyatt Gardner BM Jazz Studies wyattgardner1998@gmail.com teach, perform

Voice

Name Degree Contact Information Availability
Voice    
Carolina Botero  DMA Vocal Performance, 2019   (512) 284-2705
cbotero@me.com
teach, perform 
Giselle Wyers (faculty)  DMA University of Arizona
Assistant Professor, UW Music Faculty 
 (206) 543-1183
wyersg@uw.edu
teach (summers only) 
Debbie Johansen  MM Choral Conducting, 2015   (818) 279-5308
debij10@uw.edu
teach 
Steve Danielson  DMA Choral Conducting, 2019   (901) 832-0951
steve6of8@gmail.com
teach, perform 
Katrina Deininger MM Vocal Performance, 2015  (208) 830-8211
katdeininger@gmail.com
perform
Gemma Balinbin MM Vocal Performance, 2018  (206) 919-8879
gemma.balinbin@icloud.com
perform
Joseph Muriello (tenor) MM Vocal Performance, 2014  (708) 441-9653
joseph@muriello.net
perform
Suzanna Mizell MM Vocal Performance, 2018  (510) 828-6291
chrisyoung123@gmail.com
teach, perform

Chamber Ensembles & World Music

Name Degree Contact Information Availability
Chamber Ensembles    
En Canto Brazilian Music

MM Woodwind Performance, 2012  Meese Agrawal Tonkin: 
(206) 571-6526
meeseagrawal@gmail.com
encantobrazil@gmail.com 
teach, perform 
       
UW Saxophone Ensemble   Michael Brockman (faculty)
(206) 616-6209
brockman@uw.edu
perform
duet, trio, quartet & chamber music
Vocal Ensembles
UW Glee Club   Dr. Geoffrey Boers (faculty)
(206) 543-7587
boersg@uw.edu
perform
University Chorale   Giselle Wyers (faculty)
(206) 543-1183
wyersg@uw.edu
perform
barbershop/sweet adelaides, caroling groups, madrigal groups, duets/trios/quartets
Vocal Quartet DMA Choral Conducting, 2012 Wendy Moy
(206) 200-0806
moyw@uw.edu 
perform
caroling, weddings, parties
World Music    
UW Steelband
& World Music Referrals 
  Shannon Dudley (faculty)
(206) 543-6308
dudley@uw.edu 
perform, clinics
UW Zimmarimbas PhD Ethnomusicology, 2018  Jocelyn Moon
jao2@uw.edu
perform, clinics 
Jazz Combos    
Brennan Carter
Trumpet 
BM Jazz Studies, 2012   (206) 235-5473
brennancarter@hotmail.com
perform 
Elliot Gray
Piano 
BM Jazz Studies, 2012
BM Music Education, 2012 
(206) 459-6873
elliotgraymusic@gmail.com 
perform
Mark Hunter
Upright Bass 
BM Jazz Studies, 2012  (360) 318-3696
mhunter360@gmail.com
perform
Jan Jakut 
Guitar
MM Jazz Studies, 2017  (206) 693-9443
jan@janjakut.com
perform (solo/ensemble)
Jarred Katz
Drums 
BA, 2012  (509) 993-4215
katzj3@uw.edu 
perform 
Colin Pulkrabek
Trombone 
BM Jazz Studies, 2012   (206) 427-4559
colin.pulkrabek@gmail.com
perform 
Evan Woodle
Drums 
BA, 2013   (206) 713-7577
eswoodle@gmail.com
perform 

Tutors, Conductors & Clinicians

Name Degree Contact Information Availability
Music History Tutors    
Sarah Kolat  PhD Music History, 2018   (206) 999-7501
me@sarahkolat.com
workshops, lectures, tutoring 
Whitney Henderson PhD Music History, 2017 (206) 319-2984
whitney.henderson@gmail.com
whitney8@uw.edu 
tutoring
Music Theory Tutors
Lauren Halsey PhD Music Theory, 2018

(336) 906-9062
lbhalsey@uw.edu

tutoring, ear training
Nathan Cobb MA Music Theory, 2019 (832) 640-2976
cobbn2@uw.edu 
tutoring
Conductors & Clinicians (Instrumental)
Anita Kumar PhD Music Education, 2018  480-371-9237
kumarab@uw.edu
band clinics, coaching, conducting, adjudicator
Taina Lorenz PhD Music Education, 2020  206-384-3078
tainal@uw.edu
band clinics, coaching, conducting, adjudicator
Doug Morin DMA Wind Conducting, 2018 704-223-0057
djmorin@uw.edu 
band clinics, coaching, conducting
Shayna Stahl DMA Wind Conducting, 2019  sstahl@uw.edu band clinics, coaching, conducting, marching band, adjudicator
Mark Tse DMA Wind Conducting, 2018 617-963-9218
marktse@uw.edu 
band clinics, coaching, conducting
Tigran Arakelyan DMA Orchestral Conducting, 2016 (818) 212-4654
arakelyant@gmail.com 
conducting - symphony orchestra & chamber orchestra
Anna Edwards DMA Instrumental Conducting, 2014 (425) 652-0295
osprey72@uw.edu
anedwards@seattleschools.org
 
conducting - symphony orchestra & chamber orchestra
Brad McDavid  faculty - Husky Marching Band  (206) 897-1408
bmcdavid@uw.edu
concert band, marching band, clinic referrals
Mario Alejandro Torres DMA Orchestral Conducting

(318) 581-7025

torreshn@uw.edu

conducting - symphony orchestra & chamber orchestra 
Ethnomusicology Clinicians
Bethany Grant-Rodriguez PhD Music Education, 2019 716-679-8972
bjgr@uw.edu 
World Music Pedagogy
Will Coppola PhD Music Education, 2018  914-456-9561
wcoppola@uw.edu
Kodaly, Jazz Pedagogy
Jocelyn Moon PhD Ethnomusicology, 2018  jao2@uw.edu Zimbabwean Marimba
Claire Anderson PhD Ethnomusicology, 2018  clairea2@uw.edu Beginning Steel Band
Mike Kohfeld PhD Ethnomusicology, 2020 618-363-2635
jmko29@uw.edu 
teach, lecture - American Popular Music
Skuli Gestsson PhD Music Education, 2019 425-444-7328
skuli@uw.edu 
Consulting/lecturing about technology in elementary/general music education; Performance of Icelandic Folk Music 
Chris Mena PhD Music Education, 2019 619-990-6173
menac2@uw.edu 
Percussion clinics (concert, orchestral, jazz), Band/Jazz Band clinics, World Music Pedagogy, Equity and Diversity, Ethnic Studies and Music Education.
Composition Clinicians
Brian Schappals BA Composition, Whitworth University bschappals@gmail.com teach