Guest Artist Recital: Hanchao Jiang, saxophone

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 - 7:30pm
Hanchao Jiang, saxophone

Hanchao Jiang, guest saxophonist from Shanghai, China, performs works by Brahms, Hindemith, Mozart, Bach, Handel, and others. With Kay Annva Yeh, piano, faculty saxophonist Michael Brockman, and UW Saxophone Quartets.

Note: Hanchao Jiang also leads a free master class with UW saxophone students on Thurs. Dec. 1, 7:30 p.m., Room 114.




Brahms: Clarinet Sonata in F major Op. 120 No. 1

Hindemith: Konzertstück für zwei Altsaxophone

Mozart: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik K.525

Bach: Fugue in G minor BWV 578

Handel: Entry of the Queen of Sheba

Pierné: Trois Conversations

Escaich: Tango Virtuoso

Artist Bio: Hanchao Jiang

Hanchao Jiang is a Chinese classical saxophonist born in Shanghai in 1988. He started studying classical saxophone at age eleven, and in 2006, he attended the National Conservatory of Music, Saint-Etienne in France to study under the guidance of Professor Daniel Cochet. In 2008, he entered the Geneva Superior Conservatory of Music in Switzerland under Professor Philippe Collet. In 2010 and 2012, he received his bachelor’s degree and master’s degree respectively in music performance from the Geneva conservatory.