You are here

Scholarship Recital

Sunday, February 9, 2020 - 2:00pm
Scholarship Recipient
Anthony Lefaive is among scholarship recipients performing on Feb. 9 (Photo: Steve Korn).

Performances by some of the School of Music’s top instrumental and voice students are featured in this concert recognizing the students who have been awarded scholarships and fellowships this year at the School of Music and the generous friends who provide this critical support.  

A reception in the Fishbowl follows the concert. Registering at the link below will allow us to plan for the correct number of guests. Please join us! 

Register for the Reception

Renee Zhang, Violin
Violin Sonata No. 3 in C Major, Bach 
III: Largo
IV: Allegro assai

Kiwa Mizutani, Piano
Fantasie in F minor, Op. 49, Chopin

David Norgaard, Percussion
A Minute of News, Eugene Novotney
La Isla, David Norgaard

Anthony Lefaive, Jazz Studies
Repertoire TBA

Performer Bios

Anthony Lefaive has been playing music in Seattle for ten years, immersing himself in different styles ranging from traditional Scandinavian folk to progressive fusion to straight ahead pop rock. As a student at Roosevelt high school he developed a passion for jazz and spontaneous composition. He is currently attending the University of Washington as a major in Jazz and Improvised Music.

David Norgaard is a senior pursuing a Bachelors of Music in Percussion Performance, studying under Dr. Bonnie Whiting. He will graduate this Spring. He is a recipient of the Michael and Rebecca McGoodwin Endowed Scholarship in Music Performance.

Kiwa Mizutani is pursuing her Bachelor of Music in Piano Performance, studying under Dr. Robin McCabe. She is currently in a senior year and expecting to graduate in 2021. She is a recipient of the Brechemin Foundation Scholarship.

Renee Zhang is a third-year undergraduate student pursuing a dual-degree program in MCD Biology (BS) and Violin Performance (BM). She will be graduating in the Spring of 2021 and currently studies with Ronald Patterson. She is a recipient of the Brechemin Foundation Scholarship.