You are here

UW Music names scholarship chamber groups for 2017-18

Submitted by Chelsea Renee Broeder on June 6, 2017 - 3:32pm
  • Discovery Trio
    The Discovery Trio—(left to right: Wyatt Smith (harpsichord), Chris Young (cello), and Gemma Goday (flute) (Photo: Emily Acri).
  • Daisha, a UW Music 2017 Scholarship Chamber Group
    Daisha, a UW Music 2017 Scholarship Chamber Group, with members (left to right): Daniel Richardson (piano), Isabella Kodama (cello), and Halie Borrer (violin) (Photo: Corentin Pokorny).

The School of Music has named two  groups to represent UW Music as official Scholarship Chamber Groups for 2017-18 in  results of the school's annual Strings and Piano Chamber Music Competition.

Winning groups are Daisha—Halie Borror (violin), Isabella Kodama (cello), and Daniel Richardson (piano)—who are coached by strings professor Melia Watras, and The Discovery Trio—Gemma Goday (flute), Chris Young (cello) and Wyatt Smith (harpsichord)—who are coached by faculty cellist Sæunn Thorsteinsdóttir.

In addition to coaching sessions with UW faculty, each winning student receives a generous scholarship award and high-profile performance opportunities on campus and beyond, including two recitals by each group on the School's 2017-18 concert season. Performance dates for both groups are to be announced.

"We are proud to have these excellent young musicians represent the School of Music in the coming year," says Richard Karpen, director of the School of Music. "They will serve as ambassadors of the school--and the UW at large--in this role as well as studying and performing great music."