Digital Series: Modern Music Ensemble: ONE7 by John Cage

Saturday, May 16, 2020 - 4:00pm
  • Modern

Students and faculty of the School of Music performance studios present music from across the ages in this digital-only concert series, special for Spring 2020. 

On Facebook and YouTube

ONE7 (1990)
Jonn Cage (1912-1992)
Modern Music Ensemble
Cristina Valdés, director

2 - Caitlin Beare, 19 Crimes Cabernet Sauvignon wine bottle
3 - Yongyun Zhang, radio
4 - Eliza Rodriguez, scissors
5 - Tristan Greeno, piano
6 - Jonathan Rodriguez, Epipremnum of the Araceae family
7 - Emily Acri, violin
8 - Aaron Butler, electric guitar
9 - Alessandra Barrett, viola
11 - Mason Lynass, kettle and water bottle
12 - Kevin Leiferman, cello

Program Note: 
The University of Washington Modern Music Ensemble normally performs live concerts with repertoire spanning from the early 20th century to works by living composers. Due to the constraints of the current pandemic, the ensemble is finding new ways to continue making music together. Their presentation of John Cage's ONE 7, is the first of several projects they are embarking on this quarter.

ONE 7, composed in 1990 and dedicated to Pauline Oliveros, is scored for an unspecified solo instrument. The performer chooses 12 different sounds and performs those sounds within flexible time brackets indicated in the score. In our version, each numbered sound is performed by a different student, highlighting how we can create music alone, yet together. —Cristina Valdés

This performance was recorded live using the ZOOM communication platform during the Spring 2020 quarter. 

Director Bio

Cristina Valdés, piano

Considered one of today’s foremost interpreters of contemporary music, Cristina Valdés is known for presenting innovative concerts with repertoire ranging from Bach to Xenakis.  She has performed across four continents and in venues such as Lincoln Center, Le Poisson Rouge, Miller Theatre, Jordan Hall, and the Kennedy Center.  Ms. Valdés has appeared both as a soloist and chamber musician at festivals worldwide including New Music in Miami, the Foro Internacional de Musica Nueva in Mexico City, Brisbane Arts Festival, the Festival of Contemporary Music in El Salvador, Havana Contemporary Music Festival, and the Singapore Arts Festival.

 An avid chamber musician and collaborator, Ms. Valdés has toured extensively with the Bang On a Can “All Stars”, and has performed with the Seattle Chamber Players, the Mabou Mines Theater Company, the Parsons Dance Company, and Antares.  She has also been a featured performer on both the Seattle Symphony’s Chamber Series and [UNTITLED] concerts.

 Cristina has appeared as concerto soloist with the Johns Hopkins Symphony Orchestra, the Binghamton Philharmonic, the Seattle Philharmonic, Philharmonia Northwest, the Eastman BroadBand, and the Stony Brook Symphony Orchestra.  Most recently, she performed the piano solo part of the Ives 4th Symphony with the Seattle Symphony.

 Cristina Valdés joined the faculty of the UW School of Music in Fall 2014 as an artist in residence in the keyboard program. 

Event Type: